30-day Shed Analysis

Yup. This is how much of a nerd I am.

I started tracking my AM and PM sheds on Day 3… so this doesn’t account for a full 30 days, but I figured this would be a good time to start the graphing.  I rated the sheds on a scale of 1 to 4 – level 1 representing just 1-2 shed strands and level 4 representing what I consider “excessive,” but not quite wash-day shed level (there is, of course, room for inconsistency here, but this is where we’ll start and make improvements and adjustments as we go along).

  • Average shed for the month: 1.7
  • Average AM shed: 1.8
  • Average PM shed: 1.6
  • Average post wash day shed:  2.4  (interesting…)
  • Level 1 sheds: 8
  • Level 2 sheds: 12
  • Level 3 sheds: 15
  • Level 4 sheds: 2
  • Once daily sheds: 11
  • Twice daily sheds: 13
  • Completely shedless days*: 1

While this data collection will likely only get more interesting, I think it’s a really good base point for tracking improvements and/or relapses.

* not sure how relevant this is… because that could just mean that I didn’t touch my hair all day and kept it wrapped up. Is that really something that should be tracked?  *shrug*

Say what??

