Wash Day Recap

Recap from Day 15 Wash Day

Products:

  • Coconut Oil – It’s coconut oil.  *shrug*  I feel like coconut oil is such a standard in curly haired regimens, that I don’t even need to say more than that.
  • U R Curly Soya Shampoo – This was one of the samples that I decided to crack open so that I can clear out the product collection.  It probably came with one of my many CurlMart orders.  It wasn’t bad.  I can say that I like it better than the Aubrey shampoo because my hair didn’t feel strawy after using it.  A little also went a long way. It’s still shampoo though
  • Suave Professionals Almond + Shea Butter Conditioner – me and Suave tend to get along on the conditioner front.  I swore by their Tropical Coconut conditioner for most of my natural-hair-life.  So when I saw they had added this product to their “professionals” line, I gave it a go.  I like it.  It’s a step up from the cheapie, but still completely affordable which I’m a huge fan of.
  • güd Vanilla Flame Natural Softening Conditioner – totally an implulse buy at Walgreens one day.  It was on the clearance table for like $2, I think.  I bought like three bottles.  “It’s by Burt’s Bees,” I said.  “It’s naaaaatural,” I said.  And it’s vanilla scented!  New favorite, right?  Not even.  Let’s just say that I knew after I first used it the reason it was probably on the clearance table. “Softening” Conditioner?  Nope.  And that brand name?  “güd?” (see what they did there?)  I think that might be Turkish for “yeah… no thanks.”  But.  Again.  I’m clearing out the product collection so I’m powering through it.
  • Homemade Mix – I had some leftover Eden Body Works Jojoba Monoi Deep Conditioner (you know… when you have too much to throw away, but not enough to get a full use?).  So I mixed a little olive oil and honey into that for this week’s deep conditioner.  *shrug*
  • Darcy’s Botanicals Sweet Cocoa Bean Moisturizing Hair Whip – this is one of my standard products.  I love the product’s texture – a little heavier than Darcy’s Daily Leave-In, but not super heavy or greasy.  I feel like it does really well when I’m stretching my hair.

Process:

  • I pre-poo’d this week.  That’s another one of those things that I’m not ALWAYS consistent with.  I suppose it really comes down to whether I feel like it or not… and whether I feel like my hair is SO tangled that I feel like it needs extra help in the detangling department.
  • The shampoo part was standard – cleanse out buildup and this week, most of the pre-poo oil.
  • I use slippy conditioner after cleansing to thoroughly detangle into four sections.
  • I deep conditioned as usual for an hour with my Hair Therapy Wrap and then rinsed.
  • I applied the Cocoa Whip to damp hair and put my hair on a whole bunch of rollers.  I left the rollers in for a few hours… my hair wasn’t completely dry when I took them down.  But it’s not like I was trying to style it.  I just needed to stretch it.

Day 8 WDDry

Say what??

