Wash Day Recap

Recap from Day 8 Wash Day

Products:

  • Aubrey Honeysuckle Rose Shampoo – I’ve already talked about this stuff.  I don’t particularly care for it.  I’m just using it until it’s gone.  I won’t be buying it again.  I think I bought it because so many people swear by it… but I never experienced the wow on this product.  Actually, neither the shampoo nor the conditioner rocked even a piece of my world.  :\
  • ApHogee Two-Step Protein Treatment – I didn’t expect to be blown away by this product since it’s really about its after-effects on hair.  It smells awful.  The application is tedious.  I knew all of that going in.  If the benefits are as great as I hope they are, I’d be willing to deal with it as part of my regular regimen.
  • Homemade Mix – the banana baby food and honey (and sometimes also olive oil) concoction has always been a winner for me for whatever reason.  It super-moisturizes my hair and makes my hair feel like magic.  With the whole protein-treatment thing going, I figured it was particularly important to re-moisturize my hair at the highest level possible.

I forgot to take a picture of my leave-in and seal products (oops), but it was the same as last week – Darcy’s Cocoa Bean Hair Whip and Coconut Oil.  I have to say that sealing is a practice that I normally am not religious about… I always add a leave-in/moisturizing product after washing, but I haven’t consistently sealed.  I’m going to try to be more committed to that practice in hopes that I’ll see positive results in return.

Process:

  • I washed my hair since the protein treatment is supposed to be applied to clean hair (I wasn’t buying the ApHogee shampoo when I already had shampoo.  hmph!)
  • I applied the protein treatment as directed (also, I watched numerous YouTube videos to prepare myself) and used a blow dryer because I don’t have a hooded dryer (instructions say “sit under dryer”).  After rinsing, I added the balancing moisturizer (pics below) and then rinsed and then deep conditioned.

Day 8 ApHogee

  • I deep conditioned for an hour with my Hair Therapy Wrap and then rinsed.
  • I applied my leave-in and seal to damp hair and pulled my hair back to dry overnight.  I actually had something to do, so I couldn’t dry in bantu knots or rollers or whatever.  I went out with damp hair.  *shrug*

Day 8 hotd

 

Say what??

