Day 2 – Expecting Shedding

I read an article recently that talked a bit about how it’s one thing to accept the fact that shedding is a normal occurrence in hair growth and maintenance, but another to assume excessive shedding is something that we shouldn’t work to minimize.

I’ve always hated shedding hair – in any form. I hate seeing it in the sink. I hate seeing it collect on the floor. I hate seeing it on my clothes. I hate seeing it on the shower floor on wash day. I hate seeing it in my brush. But I’m also guilty of looking at it and dismissing it as the norm rather than perhaps the symptom of a bigger problem. I’m actually NOT one of those curlies that goes searching for a bulb on the end of a strand… so my shed hair could be mostly breakage. Or not. *shrug* I don’t know. I can’t say that I really care to start inspecting each strand that closely, but I plan to start documenting my shed hair. Daily (when applicable). I wear my hair to work in a bun pretty much every day – that’s not so much active protective styling as much as it’s being really terrible at styling my hair. The fact that low manipulation styles and tucked ends habits are good for my hair is really just a bonus. I’ll take it.

My normal practice is to bun my hair up in the morning and then take it down when I get home. I usually sleep with my hair in varying numbers of twists to keep it stretched. So I basically manipulate my hair twice a day – and that’s when I’ll encounter whatever shedding my hair wants to show. There actually was none today though… which is actually odd considering I just washed it yesterday.

Say what??

