Day 1 – Wash Day

When I decided to start this process, I figured a great place to start was on wash day. Healthy hair starts on wash day, right? My goal was to get back to a consistent washing and conditioning regimen as a means of getting my hair its groove back. I feel like it was thriving back in 2011 when I was participating in the Kim Coles Grow Out Challenge and then I got lazy and busy (mostly busy, I swear) and let consistency fall away. A few months ago, I felt like I was seeing more breakage and split ends than I was comfortable with and decided it was time to get back on track. In a real way.

So I planned to approach that by putting a serious, meticulously planned regimen in place.  But… as with any great experiment, you need to know your starting point so that you can gauge changes – be they improvements or relapses. (My nerd is showing now.)

So, wash day today was just the ho-hum wash day regimen that I’ve been employing for the past year or so. Nothing particularly special.

Day 1 Wash Day

But this wash day would be where the documentation begins. That documentation starts with the wash-day shed ball. From beginning to end of the wash day process, this is my shed ball.

Day 1

Additionally, I decided that I was going to start combating against breakage by introducing protein treatments into my regimen. I had never done them before, but all of my trusted hair advisors (aka hair blogs) sing the praises of protein and stress the importance of its presence in a well-rounded regimen. And I’m all about that. So… next wash day, I will be delving into the world of protein treatments.

Say what??

